Pope vs. Kardashian

So Facebook has what appears to be this nice feature “Hide Post: see fewer posts like this”.  But it doesn’t do what it says it will do.  At first I thought it did.  But no.

When I traveled outside of the country for a week I had very limited access to the internets.  It was a first in a long time and although I missed my internets, it was kinda refreshing.  It was most refreshing that I didn’t have to come across any ridiculously stupid story about the Kardashians or Jenners.  They obviously pay the most to have themselves mentioned in feeds everyday.  They represent the purest form of narcissism.  There’s so much else going on in the world, I can no longer hear about how Kloe’s butt looks or how Kylie’s lips are better than Kim’s.  I can’t, I just can’t.

kSo upon my return from vacation I started using that nice feature on Facebook.  I use FB to get most of my news/entertainment gossip more so than to see what old high school classmates (that I don’t interact with) are doing.  So every time I saw a headline/pic with a Kardashian/Jenner I hit “Hide Post: see fewer posts like this.”  And at first I thought it was working! Yay!  Facebook, way to have a good filter.  So, I felt for the most part free of seeing their stupid non-stories.  Only every once in a while would a post pop up and it was usually on the back of someone else…like how Jessica Alba was knocked into by Kylie’s security guard.  But, I think they were just on vacation and really just weren’t posting as much.  Then Caitlyn came out.  And in the last few weeks, I’ve been bombarded, primarily with Kylie stories.  Oh, Kylie got a new puppy.  Oh, Kylie’s iPhone app out sold Kim’s.  Oh, Kylie’s boyfriend Tyga, got her a car for her birthday.  OMG, my head is going to explode. kl

The biggest culprits are TMZ, Perez Hilton and Pop Sugar.  I’m sure there are more, but the Kardashian’s own them.  No matter how many times I say I wanna see less stories like this, they keep popping up.  So this feature does not do what it says it will do.

Dear Facebook, please let me type in some key terms I’d like to have filtered out of my feed, since your current feature doesn’t work.

So the Pope is in town.  One story after another, for all the news stations I follow and other outlets is about the Pope.  Which is completely understandable.  But somehow, some way, the Kardashian/Jenner machine is able to squeeze through.  I’ve seen almost nearly as many stories about this family as I have with the Pope!  How is that even possible!?!?!?!

Dear Pope, please encourage our capitalistic media to move onto other subjects than this family…please!!!!!!  Please pray for us and my peace of mind so I don’t flip out every time I see a non-story posted about this one particular family. Amen.

There are so many other families.  There are billions of other topics.  Even the Pope can’t escape their black hole.

Even this pic, from lifeandstylemag.com is from an article titled “5 People Kim Kardashian looked like”kim-kardashian-balcony-3 News, not news.  Kardiculous!

Just my oponion.

One thought on “Pope vs. Kardashian

Leave a Reply

